RSS

Parents have you given your teenager a hug today?

02 Apr

Teen Daughter Kissing MotherI came across an article that talked about how important hugs are and how they benefit a child’s emotional well-being, even in their teenage years. Therapists say about 8-12 hugs a day is best for emotional wellbeing.http://www.sharecare.com/question/hugs-important-to-emotional-health

That got me thinking about my own childhood and I was trying to remember if I received a lot of hugs. From my mom? No! I can’t remember her ever hugging me.  Hugs from my dad? Yes but more of the tousling my hair (knuckle sandwiches), pretending to get my nose between his fingers and the overall love that he showed which made me really feel special.  My siblings? No not until we were much older.

I think that growing up I was not emotionally secure. I felt insecure and it took me many years to feel worthy of love and have the inner strength to know that I could do anything I set my mind to.  I definitely spent years seeking attention and approval from many different people. It wasn’t until I had a daughter of my own that I realized hugs had been missing in my own childhood. I couldn’t hug her enough.  I didn’t understand why my mother was not more affectionate with me and my sisters. To make matters worse she adored my brother (10 years younger than my younger sister) and he never lacked the hugs and attention from her like we did.

Parents, I want to encourage you to hug your children. Maybe not overdo it with your teenagers in public so that they are embarrassed, but let them know how special they are. Maybe start with a  loving pat on the back several times a day.  Maybe you already do that. If hugs are missing in your life, I know that it can feel uncomfortable to start now but it is really important to have that physical, I love you, contact with your children. Research shows that inwardly they are craving it, no matter what they say.

Here’s are some sites that have a lot of good information on hugs:

“Hugs are good for you”. http://www.squidoo.com/hugs-are-good-for-you#module12448682

“Can a hug make teenagers less terrible.” http://www.scotsman.com/news/can-a-hug-make-teenagers-less-terrible-1-1090161

“Do teens need hugs?”  http://ronaejull.com/2012/06/21/do-teens-need-hugs/

I would love to hear how you connect with your teenagers. Have you hugged them today? What is your advice on how other parents can get started to implement that into their daily life.

I send you a hug,

Tracy

Visit us on our official website at www.MyTurnYourTurn.com. My Turn Your Turn is a co-parenting website that organizes families and improves communication between co-parents sharing children due to divorce or separation.  Specializing in co-parenting tools and shared parenting resources including an online custody calendar,  online divorce journal, child support tracker and more for blended families, single parents and high conflict divorce cases.

 

Leave a Reply

 
They Call Me Mummy

A Quest to Discover the Woman Within

Thompson Law Firm, pllc (601) 850-8000

Divorce, Child Custody & Child Support, Alimony, Contempt, Modification, Youth Court, Adoption and Appeals.

Erika Rossi-Raia

Marketing & Communications Consultant for small businesses

WotWentWrite?

FOR WOMEN WHO WANT TO CELEBRATE THE GOOD THINGS…

amandawymer

UFO Reseacher

About The Children, LLC's Blog

"We're About The Children, it's about time." (800) 787-4981

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Age No Barrier

Exercise isn't just for the young and fit - it's for everyone.

prernatalreja

Just another WordPress.com site

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

FaithRises

"Discussions on faith and perseverance"

Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

Sell, Lead, Succeed!

Selling, Social Networking, Personal Branding, Leading, & Lots Of Fun!

Life of a Busy Dad

Life adventures of a dad of four kids with three of them under the age of Nine.

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

